< News & Press

Opera Carolina announces new Board of Directors

July 14, 2005

  • date
    July 14, 2005
  • article type
  • category
    Opera Carolina News

Opera Carolina announces new Board of Directors

Charlotte, NC (July 14, 2005) - Opera Carolina elected its 2005-2006 officers and new members to the Board of Directors at the Annual Meeting held on June 14, 2005.

Newly elected members to the Board of Directors are Gay Boswell, Arts Advocate, Dr. Ki-Hyun Chun of The Chun Group, Inc., Georgette Dixon of Wachovia Corporation, Peggy Dreher, Arts Advocate, Bernard Hargadon, Jr., Arts Advocate, Steven Hershfield of Time Warner Cable, Kay Norris, Arts Advocate, Jeff Triplette of Duke Energy Corporation and Craig Weisbruch of National Gypsum Company.

The Executive Committee for the 2005-2006 term includes: newly appointed Chair Emily Smith, Arts Advocate, Vice-Chair C. Wells Hall of Mayer Brown Rowe & Maw, Vice Chair Tom Hughes, of The Hearst Corporation, Secretary Janet Haack of Donald Haack Diamonds & Fine Gems, Treasurer Catherine Connor, retired CPA, Assistant Treasurer, Brooks Carey of U.S. Trust Co. and Immediate Past Chair, Fred Lowrance of Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein LLP.

Committee chairs include: Joseph F. Andolino of Goodrich Corporation, Ernie Dehnert of BB&T, Moses Luski of Shumaker Loop & Kendrick, Paul Simon of Paul Simon Co. and Bill Taggart of Wachovia Corporation.

Returning members to the Board of Directors are Melanie Cohrs Alexander, Ian Banwell, Stewart Blake, Alvaro de Molina, Gerald Fox, Carole M. Hagan, Cyrus M. Johnson, Jr., William F. Johnson, Jr., Gilbert Lee, Ted Lee, Holly Maurer, Marjorie McDorman, Joetta Talford and Vernon Willis, Jr.

Ex Officio board members include: Wendy Lewis, President of the Friends of the Opera, Charlotte Payne, President of the Opera Guild of Charlotte, George Washington III, President of The Opera Carolina Chorus Association and Dean Johns from Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools.

Newly appointed to the Opera Carolina Advisory Committee are N. Neil Howell, M.D., Jeffrey Huberman and Roy Johnson. Returning members include: The Honorable Sydnor Thompson as Chair, Irwin Belk, Amy Rice Blumenthal, Natalie Cohen, Pepper Dowd, Sarah Belk Gambrell, Jenny Lee, Carolyn Branan Lovejoy, Lucy Shen McDermott, Woodrow E. Nail, Jr., James Nisbet, Philip Norwood and Lynda Rowe Rankin.


Founded in 1948 as the Charlotte Opera Association by a small group of volunteers, today Opera Carolina is the largest professional opera company in the Carolinas with an operating budget of over $2.8 million. The mission of Opera Carolina is to inspire and entertain the region's diverse community through the presentation of excellent Opera, Operetta, Music Theater, and Education & Outreach programs that elevate the quality of life in the Carolinas. Opera Carolina is a community resource with a commitment to artistic excellence and community service.

Opera Carolina is supported by the Arts & Science Council-Charlotte/Mecklenburg, Inc. The North Carolina Arts Council, an agency funded by the state of North Carolina and the National Endowment for the Arts, also supports Opera Carolina. Opera Carolina is a member of OPERA America.